Back to the Salt Mines

Yay, Spring!

Spring is here! The opportunities for all kinds of backbreaking manual labor are back!

filler post: I thought I’d put up some pics of work over fall and winter.

Here we are up at Barbara’s ranch house- a log house all around but also this section of panels on the east wall. Sanding the panels is much faster than sanding the huge logs. I was up on the 3rd level of scaffolding sanding under the eaves and along the fascia- ugh.

Looking down at Lukas on the 2nd level. The plastic covering kept the warmth in so the primer and stain could dry; it also provided a useless wall that I pretended would cushion my fall if I fell backwards off the scaffolding, and I couldn’t look down on the garden and lawn, up at the sky and out at the mountains, which lessened my nervous-feet vertigo.
Masks are good at stopping sawdust- this one went from white to brown. The dust also turned my hair brown, which it used to be.
Finished sanding, ready to prime and stain. We finished the north and west walls before the snows arrived.
Now I know why we let the Mexicans do it.

I got one day of skiing in this year, which is one more than usual. Last time I went skiing I think I was on 215cm Kneissl’s made around 1970. The old-timers liked that; the kids laughed. This time I rented the short, shaped skis and yes, I noticed an improvement.

Great day at Lost Trail, on the Idaho/Montana border. I’d said to Una, “Don’t put your ticket on your main zipper, because you’ll have to zip up and it’ll fly up and smack you in the face.” Then I put my ticket on my main zipper.

No visit to Montana is complete without going for a walk with the Hollingsworth’s crazy dog, Fenrir. We call him Finner.

That leash is never slack.

One thought on “Back to the Salt Mines

  1. Richard Shumway March 25, 2023 / 11:33 am

    Good stuff! You’re right

    Like

Leave a comment