Portland gets hammered

So we wait around in Olympia while I’m checking mountain passes for road conditions and storm reports. Forget about the mountains- I should have been checking the lowlands! Portland was hit by a storm that came to a standstill over the city and dumped a record 11 inches in one night. Then the temperatures plummeted and the roads were either under a blanket of snow, or compressed down to ice on the freeways.

Heading south on I-205, the alternative-to-I-5 route around Portland

No traffic coming from the south, due to what looked like a jacknifed semi. Abandoned car on northbound lane. The car in front of me had a banged-up rear door, no license plate. A Somalian guy was driving and when the traffic came to a standstill he got out and made sure the door was shut.

They allowed one truck to cross the river and head north on the 205. America can handle all kinds of weather and calamity, but deprive us of our Cheetos and things go apocalypto-end of days real fast.

Heading east on I-84. Traffic stopped for miles in the westbound lanes. Road is still thick ice but skies are looking good to the east.

Can’t pass up a stop at Multnomah Falls!

On the trail to the top of the falls.

I like how the shoes let you know the flash is working.

What do you see here? Nothing special, right?

The mind of a surfer: I see waves wrapping around a point.

from top of the falls

The roads were dry and some blue sky greeted us after Hood River and into The Dalles. You can take the 197 straight south out of The Dalles or drive about 15 minutes east and head down the 97, which is a more heavily-traveled road and probably better maintained. But the sign said, “Bend, next right” so we took the 197 through Maupin. It looked like it would be smooth sailing but the weather turned and I wondered if I’d have to break out the chains.

It actually only snowed a little. All the snow on the road was stuff blowing off the fields. It was windy and cold (down to 8F), but we made it to Bend without incident.

Next, Crater Lake!

One thought on “Portland gets hammered

  1. WARD W CARSON February 26, 2023 / 10:37 pm

    Nice Photos. I trust that you’re having an exciting trip.

    I should have gotten this your way before, but you have a cousin, Carol Merganthaler, brother Don’s daughter, living in Bend. A great skier and exciting woman, living with her great partner. She would welcome a call. Here are the numbers I have for her: 541-350-9577 and 541-383-2644. She would probably welcome you to overnight with her. Ward

    Like

Leave a comment